Elderly Tax Relief
Connecticut law provides for annual tax relief payments for certain home-owners. The following information applies to applications filed in 2023 for the Grand list of Oct.1, 2022.
To be eligible for such a grant:
- You, or your spouse must have been at least 65 years of age as of December 31, 2022; or you must be over 18 and permanently disabled.
- You must be a permanent resident of the State of Connecticut. The property must be the applicant's primary residence.
- Your 2022 income cannot exceed $49,100 if you're married or $40,300 if you're single/widowed.
- Income definition: Qualifying income is defined as adjusted gross income for IRS purposes plus any income not included in such adjusted gross income plus the amount received from Social Security
- You must provide the Assessors office or the Senior Center with a copy of your federal income tax return if you file one, and a copy of your Social Security 1099 form. The Assessors office or the Senior Center may require all other proofs of income that may be necessary for the certification of the claim (Senior Center, 55 Pearl Street 860 826-3553).
In addition to the above conditions, homeowners must:
- File an application between February 1st and May 15th.
- Own the property or hold a tenancy for life or a number of years, which makes the applicant liable for payment of taxes (CGS Sec 12- 48).
- Credits are determined as a percentage of taxes.
27 West Main Street
New Britain, CT 06051
|Income||Tax Credit %||Tax Credit Maximum||Tax Credit Minimum|
|0 to 20,200||50%||40%||$1,250||$1,000||$400||$350|
|20,200 to 27,100||40%||30%||$1,000||$750||$350||$250|
|27,100 to 33,800||30%||20%||$750||$500||$250||$150|
|33,800 to 40,300||20%||10%||$500||$250||$150||$150|
|40,300 to 49,100||10%||0%||$250||$0||$150||$0|