Commission on the Arts

The New Britain Commission on the Arts has several purposes.  Among the most important purposes are to:

  • Create and administer the Percent for the Arts Public Arts Program
  • Select artists for the Art in the Heart of the City exhibits
  • Advise the Mayor on all matters of public art

Members of the Commission on the Arts:

  • Stephen Hard, Chairman
  • Frank Bradley
  • Kelly Nadolny
  • Patricia DonAroma
  • Charles Fort
  • Alexandra Fischbein
  • Michelle Hargrave
  • Felicia Leone
  • Duane Pierre

Common Council Liaisons:

  • Alderman Colin Osborn
  • Alderman Kristian Rosado
  • Alderman Robert Smedley

The Arts Commission meets at 6:30PM on the 1st Tuesday of each month at City Hall Room 202.

*Please note that meetings are subject to change. Verify meeting dates and locations with the Town Clerk's Office, located on the 1st Floor of City Hall or at (860) 826.3344.


City Seeking Poet Laureate for 2020

Mayor Erin Stewart and the New Britain Commission on the Arts Present a Call for Nominations for the New Britain Poet Laureate

For more information, please click the link below:

Art in the Heart of the City

Second Floor City Hall
27 West Main Street

Open to New Britain Artists and Artisans

The doors of City Hall are open to a new series of visual arts exhibits in the grand and historic space on the second floor of the building. Each exhibit will begin with a reception to introduce the featured, local artist or artisan. Refreshments will be served. For information on becoming one of our featured artists please call  (860) 826-3303.